"I believe in the power of meetings. So I facilitate them.

Yann Mauchamp brings together people from worlds that don't talk much to each other, such as tech and the positive economy, and makes them aware of the immense benefits of working together, for themselves and for the world around them. It's no coincidence that its structure is called Mutual Benefits.

An incredible thing: "the Internet

Yann does not put anyone in a box, perhaps because he never wanted to put himself in one. In the mid-1990s, the former sound and image tinkerer was curious about digital image innovations, and had always been fascinated by those who invented a desirable future. A large industrial group sent him to the United States to discover new technologies. "There, I discovered an incredible thing, which allowed me to meet online and talk with the most advanced enthusiasts of each subject (in his case at that time, Mandelbrot's fractals, which I made available via a BBS FirstClass), wherever they were in the world. It was called the Internet."

On his return, he presents the results of his study to his sponsor, who introduces him to several telecom engineers, after a few months of tinkering with HTML in a "garage" (basement on Malakoff Avenue), they set up Club-Internet, "the most open club on the planet", the first Internet service provider offering unlimited access to its subscribers, for 77 francs/month.

Yann co-managed "Studio Grolier" for a few years, a web agency known for its innovative capacity. "It worked out pretty well, I learned a lot, we had a lot of fun", smiles Yann. He embarked on another entrepreneurial adventure, after establishing the web agency business in China and Taiwan. He then took over the general management of a financial information startup, NewsAlert, which he deployed in Europe, then in Asia, from Paris, then Singapore. The bursting of the speculative bubble and the attacks of September 11, 2001, sounded the end of the insouciance and enthusiasm: Yann had to lay off about fifty people he had recruited a few months earlier, and himself...

The rest of this biography is available upon request.

« Je crois à la force des rencontres. Alors je les facilite. »

Yann Mauchamp met en relation des personnes venant de mondes qui se parlent peu, comme la tech et l’économie positive, et leur fait prendre conscience des immenses avantages qu’ils auraient à travailler ensemble, pour eux-mêmes et pour le monde qui les entoure. Ce n’est pas un hasard si sa structure se nomme Mutual Benefits.

Un truc incroyable : « l’Internet »

Yann ne met personne dans une case, peut-être parce qu’il n’a jamais voulu s’y plier lui-même. Au milieu des années 1990, l‘ex-bidouilleur de son et d’images, est curiex des innovations de l’image numérique, fasciné depuis toujours par celles et ceux qui inventent un futur désirable. Un grand groupe industriel l’envoie aux Etats-Unis pour découvrir les nouvelles technologies. « Là-bas, j’ai découvert un truc incroyable, qui permettait de se rencontrer en ligne et dialoguer avec les passionné-es les plus pointus de chaque sujet (dans son cas à ce moment-là, les fractales de Mandelbrot, que je mettais à disposition via un BBS FirstClass), où qu’ils soient dans le monde. Ca s’appelait l’Internet. »

A son retour, il présente les résultats de son étude à son commanditaire, qui lui présente plusieurs ingénieurs télécoms,  après quelques mois, à bidouiller du HTML dans un « garage » (sous-sol avenue Malakoff), ils montent ensemble Club-Internet,  « le club le plus ouvert de la planète », 1er fournisseur d’accès Internet offrant l’accès illimité à ses abonnés, moyennant 77 francs/mois.

Yann co-dirige quelques années « le Studio Grolier », web agency reconnue par sa capacité  d’innovation. « Ca a plutôt bien marché, j’ai beaucoup appris, nous nous sommes bien amusés», sourit Yann. Il embraye sur une autre aventure entrepreneuriale, après avec implanté l’activité de web agency en Chine et à Taïwan. Il prend alors la direction générale d’une startup di’nformations financières, NewsAlert, qu’il déploie en Europe, puis en Asie, depuis Paris, puis Singapour. L’éclatement de la bulle spéculative et les attentats du 11 Septembre 2001, sonnent la fin de l’insouciance et de l’enthousiasme : Yann doit licencier une cinquantaine de personnes qu’il avait recrutées quelques mois plus tôt, et lui-même...

La suite de cette biographie est disponible, sur demande.